Skip to main content

Facilitating the achievement of optimal wellness for renal disease patients


Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services


The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), formerly known as the Health Care Financing Administration (HCFA), is the federal agency responsible for administering the Medicare, Medicaid, HIPAA (Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act) and ESRD Networks and several other health-related programs. CMS contracts The Renal Network, Inc. to provide oversight of dialysis and transplant centers in Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky and Ohio.

Additional information regarding CMS and it's programs is available at

About the ESRD Network Program

Under the direction of CMS, the End-Stage Renal Disease (ESRD) Network Program consists of a national network of 18 ESRD Networks, responsible for each U.S. state, territory, and the District of Columbia. ESRD Networks service geographic areas based on the number and concentration of ESRD beneficiaries. ESRD Networks work with consumers and ESRD facilities and other providers of ESRD services to refine care delivery systems to make sure ESRD patients get the right care at the right time. The Program's responsibilities include: Assuring the effective and efficient administration of benefits Improving quality of care for ESRD patients Collecting data to measure quality of care Providing assistance to ESRD patients and providers Evaluating and resolving patient grievances

Quality Improvement Work

To achieve the vision of the ESRD Network Program, the right care for every person every time, the Program assists providers in transforming quality to make healthcare:







Through ESRD Networks and in partnership with other stakeholders, the Program assists providers in transforming healthcare quality to:

  • Improve the quality of care and quality of life for ESRD patients

  • Improve data reporting, reliability, and validity

  • Establish and support partnerships and cooperative activities among ESRD Networks, Quality Improvement Organizations (QIOs), Medicare Advantage organizations, state survey agencies, professional groups, patient organizations, and ESRD facilities/providers.